Connect with us


Senate Confirms 45 Tinubu’s Nominees, Steps Down El-Rufai, Two Others



100 Days In Office: Nigerians Await Actions On Tinubu’s Promises Tinubu Meets Service Chiefs Ahead Of G-20 Summit In India

The Senate, on Monday, confirmed 45 out of 48 ministerial nominees forwarded to it by President Bola Tinubu.

It, however, stepped down the approval of the nomination of former Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai; former Deputy Governor of Taraba State, Sani Abubakar Danladi and the former Executive Director, Business Development at the Nigeria Import and Export Bank, Stella Okotete from Delta State.

The confirmation of the appointments of others followed the screening by the Committee of the Whole, chaired by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio on the floor of the Red Chamber.

The confirmation came days after President Tinubu nominated them in two batches as ministers and wrote to the Senate, seeking their confirmation.

Nine of the newly confirmed ministers are from the North West geo-political zone, nine from South West, eight each from North East, North Central, seven from South South and five from the South East.

The new ministers from the North-West are Badaru Abubakar from Jigawa State, Mariya Mahmoud (Kano), Abdullahi Tijjani Gwarzo (Kano), Ahmed Dangiwa (Katsina), Hannatu Musawa (Katsina), Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu (Kebbi), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Bello Muhammad Goronyo (Sokoto) and Bello Matawalle from Zamfara State.

Those from the South West are Dele Alake representing Ekiti State, Tunji Alausa (Lagos), Lola Ade John (Lagos), Olawale Edun (Ogun), Dr. Ishak Salako (Ogun), Dr. Bosun Tijjani (Ogun), Olubunmi Tunji Ojo (Ondo), Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun) and Waheed Adebayo Adelabu from Oyo State.

The new ministers from North East are Prof. Tahir Mamman (Adamawa), Yusuf Maitama Tuggar (Bauchi), Ali Pate (Bauchi), Abubakar Kyari (Borno), Alkali Ahmed Saidu (Gombe), Uba Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba) and Ibrahim Geidam from Yobe State.

The North-Central has Joseph Utsev from Benue State, Shuaibu Abubakar Audu (Kogi), Lateef Fagbemi (Kwara), Iman Suleiman Ibrahim (Nasarawa), Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger), Muhammad Idris (Niger), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and

Zaphaniah Bitrus Jisalo from the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.

Those from the South-South geo-political zone are Ekperikpe Ekpo from Akwa Ibom State, Senator Heineken Lokpobri (Bayelsa), Dr. Betta Edu (Cross River), Senator John Enoh (Cross River), Festus Keyamo (Delta), Abubakar Momoh (Edo), and Nyesom Wike from Rivers State.

The South East has Uche Nnaji (Enugu), Doris Aniche Uzoka (Imo), David Umahi (Ebonyi), Nkeiruka Onyejocha (Abia) and Uju Kennedy Ohaneye from Anambra State.

Earlier today, the red chamber considered other cabinet nominees for the president.They are Dr. Maria Mahmoud Benkur from Kano State and Festus Kyamo from Delta State.

On Friday, August 4, Tinubu canceled her previous appointment of Dr. Maryam Shetty from Kano and replaced her with Dr. Mahmud Benkur from the same state.

He also, in another letter to the Senate President and read on the floor of the Red Room, appointed former Minister of Labor and Employment Festus Kyamo, SAN as ministerial nominees.

On Thursday, July 27, the President of the Republic, through the Chief of Staff and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbagabiamila, she referred the first batch of 28 candidates to the Senate for approval, while the second and final batch of 19 candidates was submitted by the same aide on Wednesday 2 August.

In his remarks following the confirmation, the Senate President said that the nominations of the other candidates will be confirmed after they are confirmed by the relevant security services.


Popular nollywood actress nkechi blessing, nks, is a handful. Retirement from test cricket. Fabrizio romano settles the future of a real madrid starter tempted by arabia.