Connect with us


10th NASS: How South South Senators Voted Against Akpabio



Akpabio Emerges 10th Senate President

At least six senators from the South-South failed to support the election of Godswill Akpabio as the 10th Senate President.

Blaze Newz recalls that the red chamber of the assembly had upon its inauguration on Tuesday, elected its leaders.

Senator Godwill Akpabio, from the South-South and Abdul’Aziz Yari of the North-West, were nominated for the position shortly after the House was inaugurated.

Akpabio, a former Akwa Ibom State Governor won the election after scoring 63 votes, defeating Senator Yari who also scored 46 votes.

A public document showing how the Senators voted, indicated that some Senators from Akpabio’s geopolitical zone voted against him by casting their ballots for Yari, a former Governor of Zamfara State.

A close look at the social media photo showed that two senators from Bayelsa State, three from Delta State and one from Edo State voted against Akpabio.

Bayelsa State

While Senator Agasaga Benson cast his vote for Akpabio, Senators Benson Friday and Dickson Seriake voted for Yari

Delta State

The entire senators from Delta State including Senators, Nwoko Ned, Dafinone Omueya, Joel Onowakpo all voted against Akpabio.


Our correspondent also observed that the lawmaker representing the Edo Central Senatorial district, Okpebolo Monday also voted against Akpabio by casting his ballot for Yari.

Hammed Tajudeen is a graduate of Osun State Polytechnic, Iree with Higher National Diploma (HND) in Mass Communication


Newstars is there for you if you want to visit australia for any of these reasons or something other than these. Latest sport news. Thousands of sudanese rally against military coup.