Connect with us


Owu’s kingdom Gets New Oba As Abiodun approves Aboro, Onitele




The vacant Olowu stool of Owu Abeokuta in Ogun State has got another Obo.

Owu is the ancestral home of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, where he is the incumbent Balogun of Owu.

The Olowu stool became vacant in December 2021 following the demise of Oba Adegboyega Dosunmu.


Since his passing, many people from the next ruling house have been making efforts to take over the stool vacated by the late monarch.

A statement by Governor Dapo Abiodun’s Chief Press Secretary, Kunle Somorin, said that Prince Saka Adelola Matemilola has been approved by the governor as the new Olowu of Owu in Abeokuta North Local Government.

Read Also: Oyo Govt Reinstates 129 Teachers Sacked By Ajimobi’s Administration

T Razzy

On Wednesday, Somorin said the decision for the approval was taken during the State Executive Committee meeting held on Monday evening.

Aside from the Olowu, Abiodun was said to have also approved Prince Oluwaseyi Rotimi Mulero as the new Aboro of Ibese in Yewa North; while Prince Rufai Adeleke Adeyalu was ratified as the new Lemo of Ode-Lemo in Sagamu LG.

Somorin hinted that approvals for the chieftaincy declaration of the Onikooko of Kooko Ebiye in Ado-Odo/Ota LG and the Olu of Ajura in Obafemi-Owode LG were also granted by the state executive council, adding that a total of 11 chieftaincy approvals were granted.

Read Also: Human Rights Lawyer, Inibehe Effiong Jailed For Defending Journalist

He stated further that Ademola Eletu is the new Onitele of Itele in Ado-Odo/Ota LG; Ogunsola Muyideen Oluseyi Soile has become the new Ayanperuwa of Sotubo in Sagamu LG, while Lukman Salami gets the title of the new Ebi of Idena in Ikenne LG.

He added that the title of the Oniboro of Iboro in Yewa North is now to be known as the Aboro of Iboro.

Meanwhile, Chiefs Rasheed Adisa Raji and Ganiu Kolawole Egunjobi were approved as the new Asipa Egba and Otun Egba, respectively.

Hammed Tajudeen is the Editor-In-Chief of Blaze Newz Nigeria, graduated from Osun State Polytechnic, Iree with Higher National Diploma (HND) in Mass Communication.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply